Spinning– yes, again.

I promise that after this post I will try and take a bit of a break from writing about spinning. If you are already bored with spinning talk, feel free to skip this one!!

If you remember, I bought a supported spindle a while back. Primarily I wanted it to work with cotton. I’m even looking into growing cotton this summer and spinning from that, too, but I have to find out more information about the Boll Weevil Eradication Program since I live in the Boll Weevil Eradication Zone.

Yes, folks, these are all real things. I couldn’t make this up if I tried.

Anyway, I’ve been slacking on spinning with my supported spindle recently, mostly because the glass dish I had wasn’t working out. I was having trouble with it not letting the spindle spin for any length of time. There appeared to be little bumps and indents in the glass which the spindle would catch. So I got frustrated and stopped. Then, the other day, I was in Dollar Tree and spotted a very nice glass bowl. And, since it was just a dollar, I took a chance.

It works perfectly! It fits well on my lap so I can spin on the couch, etc, but it also is smooth enough that the spindle will actually spin for longer than a few seconds! Hooray!

I’m working on the grey cotton that I purchased along with the spindle. I still feel like I am over-spinning it a bit, which is frustrating as other times– when I try to compensate– I am under-spinning it and the entire thing drifts apart. But I am getting much better at my long draw; I’d never successfully done the long draw until getting this spindle. Support spindles, though, seem to just about require mastery of the long draw.

Here’s a close up of some of my progress.

It’s a little slubby at times, or over-spun at others, but I’m kinda proud of it. And, regardless of how it looks, it is still super soft on the spindle. I’m going to ply it when I get more done. Which, seeing as that has barely made a dent in the 4oz I purchased, it will probably be a while.

I wonder how full I can make this spindle…

2 responses to “Spinning– yes, again.

  1. This is so great! I’ve recently become obsessed with the idea of a supported spindle. I spin with a top whorl drop spindle right now, but this post is solidifying my need to find a supported spindle!

    • Wonderful!! I’m so glad it inspired you!

      I purchased my supported spindle from hipstrings on Etsy and I cannot say enough about how wonderful Jill was. She did a custom order for me and everything!! Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

