Starting Gradient Spinning and Flowers

Like I said in a previous post, I’ve been working on some spinning projects lately. Specifically, my wheel currently has a grey gradient spinning project that I’m experimenting with.

Yes, I leave my fluffy fiber on the wheel between spinning. I have no idea if this is “normal” or not. But I’m going to keep doing it.

Anyway, I did a bunch of research on how to spin gradient yarn before I began spinning it. I knew that I wanted this fiber to be 2 ply. Preferably fingering– although it looks like it might be defaulting to lace. But we’ll see when it’s all finished. Most of all, though, I wanted the gradient to remain clear. However, from my research, what I’ve found is a series of instructions for 3-4 ply gradient yarn. Which is kinda frustrating since I have no idea what to do now. But, I guess that’s what experimentation is for!

So far what I’ve done is take the roving and split it down the middle, lengthwise, so that I had (roughly) two long strips of about the same weight with the colors remaining in the same order. Then I set one of the strips aside and began to spin the other. I’m mostly done with the first one– it’s 2oz– and it is spinning up like a dream. I love BFL and the silk really adds a nice luster to it. I’ve also been working fairly slowly to keep the subtle colors changes clearer. Once it’s done, I will take it off the wheel and let it sit while I spin the second batch. Then I will let the second batch rest and ply them.

Then we’ll see how successful my little experiment is. Or is not.

Here’s a close up of the spun single that I have done so far.

Final thing: today the daffodils have decided to start blooming! It’s been crazy warm here– in the 60s– and we’ve been wearing t-shirts and getting to sit outside in the sunshine a lot. Which is wonderful. Tomorrow we’ll be back down in the 30s, though, so I can’t be too excited about spring. But seeing the daffodils today really made me smile since I’ve been feeling kinda depressed about the impending return of the cold.

Hope they make you smile, too. (Although I know the picture could be better…Sorry!)

Happy Tuesday!!

2 responses to “Starting Gradient Spinning and Flowers

    • Thanks!! It’s really not too hard, once you get the hang of it. If you are ever interested in learning, a drop spindle is an inexpensive way to start!! :)

Leave a Reply

