Charting Shawls

I’m a bit behind for my posts this week. I meant to update yesterday, but things have been a bit busy in my personal life so I didn’t get a chance to post. (By the way, self-employment taxes are horrible!! Actually, taxes on their own are horrible. There’s got to be an easier way to do this, IRS!)

But today I finally got a moment to sit down and write out a blog post.

Lately I’ve been working on charting shawls. I’ve done some knit charting before and it was wonderful. So much easier than writing out a bunch of crochet instructions line-by-line. Charting for straight knits is so much quicker! But shawl charting…that’s a whole other beast.

This is my first time charting a shawl. And, of course, I had to make it a more complicated one. Meaning the center section of the shawl has to be one giant chart. Why, Self? Why?!

I ended up buying Intwined Pattern Studio to chart my shawls now and in the future as I just couldn’t make Excel (or rather the Mac version of Excel) work for me. Especially with some of the border lines for the repeat sections. They were coming out all wobbly and unprofessional looking. So far, the program seems worth it. It isn’t completely as intuitive as I would like and there are a few things that it doesn’t have that I really would want, but overall I can make it work with only a few extra steps on my part.

By the way, if you’re interested in purchasing it, I would suggest going through KnitPicks as they have it on sale right now. Plus they have free shipping on orders over $50. So you’ll have an excuse to buy more yarn! Although be careful which yarns you get from them! (That’s a whole other post for some other day.)

Anyway, so after much charting, un-charting, looking up things in the instruction manual, and re-charting, I finally figured it all out and have all my pretty little charts ready to go. Now I just have to finish up the PDF and get some good pictures! Hopefully the weekend really will be nice enough to do a mini photoshoot.

Here’s a little sneak peak of one of the charts…

Doesn’t it look nice?! That’s all you get though.

Hopefully I will be able to have the full pattern up for sale on Ravelry by next week! Fingers crossed!!

2 responses to “Charting Shawls

  1. Pingback: More Shawls and Yarn!! | YarnPaint!·

  2. A little late but totally in agreement about taxes. This is my first year owing. :(

    Thanks for the tip about the chart program. One day I will chart… And then conquer the world..

Leave a Reply

