The Start of Geek Month! (And a Babel fish?!)

First of all– shout-out to all my new followers!! Hiya and thanks for following! Also, thanks to everyone who has liked or commented on a post lately! You’re awesome!

Okay, now I know you all are in suspense about what my Super Secret Projects ™ will be,  especially for the blog! (Probably not really, but we’ll say you are anyway… It makes it more fun for me to imagine it that way.)

This month the yarnpaint blog will be going with a theme. This month’s theme will be– wait for it– wait for it– geeky!! (As if you didn’t see it in the title already…)

Hooray!!

So, what does this mean? Well, for this month I’m going to take the blog in a little different direction. Instead of just posting projects and random patterns/DIYs as I complete them, I’m going to be focusing on the theme of geeky. So everything for this month will be related to something that proves I am just a bit too much of a geek for most people’s comfort. (Ahem. Get over it.)

Aaaaaannnnndddddd, to start us off I have a brand new pattern and FO to share with everyone!

It is the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy Babel fish!

Here’s what the Guide has to say about Babel fish:

“The Babel fish is small, yellow, leech-like, and probably the oddest thing in the Universe. It feeds on brainwave energy received not from its own carrier, but from those around it. It absorbs all unconscious mental frequencies from this brainwave energy to nourish itself with. It then excretes into the mind of its carrier a telepathic matrix formed by combining the conscious thought frequencies with nerve signals picked up from the speech centres of the brain which has supplied them. The practical upshot of all this is that if you stick a Babel fish in your ear you can instantly understand anything said to you in any form of language. The speech patterns you actually hear decode the brainwave matrix which has been fed into your mind by your Babel fish.”

I wanted to make one the other day and, to my surprise, couldn’t find a pattern or any evidence that a Babel fish had been crocheted before. So I decided to design one (based off the Babel fish depicted in the most recent movie, not the series.)

I hope you like it! The pattern is for sale in my Ravelry store and Etsy and the actual finished amigurumi of the Babel fish is also available on my Etsy store! So go check them out!!

That’s it for right now! Be on the lookout for more Geek Month posts! I’ve a fun Free Pattern Friday already planned. (Spoilers!)

Leave a Reply

